Emma McLellan -prints and painting

My work is primarily about the process of screen-printing.

Sometimes I work on panels using screen-printing and painting together and have lately been working creating 3D textile prints.

Over the past twenty years interests in my work have combined a fascination with the grotesque and the hybrid (drawn from an interest in antique bestiaries and botanical prints) to animals and the second hand reproduced photographic image.

I have a fascination for animal curiosities, mismatched oddities and genetic mistakes in my work -I draw allusions to these with print concepts- replicate, edition, copy, misprint.

I often work from re appropriated  and sourced prints and photographs  in which to create my own images.

I attended  Auckland University’s Elam School of Fine Arts, graduating with a Bachelor of Fine Arts majoring in Printmaking in 1993, before continuing to compete a Masters of Fine Arts in Painting in 2001. The result of my  affinity for these dual disciplines is a natural combination of the two that allows me to build multiple layers of colour, pattern and image, all the while seeking to conceal and reveal different elements of the composition.

I live and work in Auckland with my family. I lecture in Visual Arts  at the Faculty of Creative Arts, Manukau Institute of Technology, Auckland and continue to exhibit in New Zealand and overseas.

Published by Emma Mclellan

Artist and lecturer based in Auckland New Zealand

Leave a comment